Toner triumphs at Raphoe 5K

Thursday, 13 July 2017

THE Raphoe 5K, hosted by the Family Resource Centre in association with Lifford Strabane Athletic Club, took place last Tuesday evening, July 4.

This is the sixth annual race organised by the FRC, and is one of Donegal County Athletic Board's Grand Prix events.

On a lovely dry and warm evening, a field of approximately 151 runners started on their way at Meetinghouse Street. The first runner home in a time of 16.42 was Ivan Toner of Letterkenny AC, followed by Puis McIntyre, Finn Valley AC in a time of 16.56. In third place was Clint Doherty, 24/7 Letterkenny, in a time of 18.01. 

First over the line for the women was Leoni Mullen from Finn Valley AC in a time of 19.43, closely followed by Sinead Peoples from Letterkenny AC with 19.49.  In third place was Elaine McGoldrick from Castlefinn Running Club in a time of 22.42.

There were two prizes in the 40s/50s/60s and one in the junior categories and the winners were as follows:

40+Men 1 Paul Dillon Lif/Str 18.19, 2 Damien Murphy Raphoe 18.43.

40+ Women 1 Joephine Donaghey Convoy AC 21.26, 2 Noreen McGettigan Letterkenny 21.43. 50+ Men 1 Martin Gormley Letterkenny 18.59. 2 Michael Duncan Lif/Str 19.28. 50+Women. 1 Dee Griffin Convoy AC 23.08, 2 Roisin Friel MGinley Lif/Str 23.22. 60+Men 1 Michael McLaughlin 21.43, 2 Richard Raymond Letterkenny 22.12. 60+ Women 1 Marjan Bangert 26.06, 2 Mary Lawrence 46.22.

Junior male winner was Shane Carlin in 18.52, while junior girl winner was Aoife Jordan in 31.03.

A Lifford Strabane AC spokesperson said: "It was lovely to see so many clubs from around the Northwest taking part. As you can imagine this event could not take place without the voluntary goodwill and helping hand of many individuals, so thank you to all those who helped out with the registration, the stewards, those who provided the gorgeous home baking and sandwiches and those who help served refreshments after the race.

"Finally thank you to Lifford Credit Union and Councillor Gary Doherty for sponsorship of prizes, the local Gardai for traffic management; Christy O'Donnell of Donegal County Council; Raphoe Tidy Towns and Raphoe Community in Action.

"As always, much gratitude to Brendan O'Donnell of Lifford Strabane AC, without whom the running of the event would not be possible. We really appreciate all your hard work and support."


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete