Owen Roes defeat title rivals

Thursday, 29 June 2017

It was first against second in the Tyrone ACL Div 3 on Sunday past as Drumragh were the visitors to table toppers Owen Roes.

The Clanabogan men were on a decent run of form having rattled off four wins on the bounce. However it was the home side that came out on top after 60 minutes, thanks in the main to a potent opening half.

Owen Roes did the damage early in the encounter with scores in the opening minutes from Cathal McShane and Seamus Dooher nosing them in front. McShane added another on 10 minutes, before the game's opening goal.

Conor Donaghey was the architect in chief with a superb defensive intervention, sending McShane scampering clear. The County man timed his release to perfection with Ronan McNulty finishing to the net.

McShane (0-2), Dooher and Conor O'Neill stretched the Leckaptrick lead with Drumragh's Kevin Marron getting all three of Drumragh's scores to reply for the away side.

However the O'Neills were well on top, and grabbed a second goal on 23 minutes. McShane once again was provider sending O'Neill in on goal. James Colgan denied the first attempt, but smart thinking from Michael Dooher flicked the ball over the line.

Seamus Dooher added another fine score to his tally late in the half, with another from McShane sending the O'Neills 2-9 to 0-3 ahead at the break.

Behind at the break Drumragh would've been keen to etch into the Owen Roes lead early on. However, it was a McShane 45 that registered first in the ref's notebook.

Shane Cleary, and Shane Devine for the Sarsfields traded scores with Conor O'Neill and McShane via a free midway through the half, while at the other end Andy Devine was on hand to make a good save low down to protect his clean sheet.

In the closing minutes McShane clipped over another free, before Sean Dooher gallivanted from wing back to send over the bar to seal the spoils for the home side.

Owen Roes: Andy Devine, Gerard Devine, Stephen Kelly, Conor Donaghey, Sean Dooher (0-1), Brendan Boggs, Sean McBride, Tony Devine, Ryan Devine, Cathal McShane (0-8), Seamus Dooher (0-3), Ronan McNulty (1-0), Michael Dooher (1-0), Conor O'Neill (0-2), Conall McCormick. Subs: Ryan McShane for Ronan McNulty (55 mins)


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete