Medal glory for North West Shotokan Karate Club

Thursday, 18 May 2017

Medal glory for North West Shotokan Karate Club thumbnailThe NWSKC Team who attended the Karate Northern Ireland Open Karate Championships in Belfast.

QUEENS' PE Centre, Belfast provided the venue for the Karate Northern Ireland Open Karate Championships recently.

With the merging of categories, medals for first and second only in team events and fight-offs for third place in individual kumite events, podium finishes were going to be hard to come by.

The North West Shotokan Karate Club competitors all showed great skill and determination and whilst not everyone got a medal there was a wealth of experience to be gained which will no doubt stand them in good stead for the future.

In the Kata sections, there were gold medal winning performances from Lucy Casey and Elaine Dullaghan, with James Burke finishing second in the Cadet/Senior Mixed KYU grade section. Finally, in the individual Kata section, bronze medals were won by Stephen John Carlin, Hollie Gallagher, Sloan O'Donnell and Zara Thompson. It was a clean sweep for the North West Teams in the Mixed Cadet/Senior Team Kata section with the male team claiming gold and the female team winning silver.

The afternoon signalled the start of the Kumite and again there were some very tough battles with many rounds to fight to win a medal. There were silver medals for Laura Browne, Emma Ellis, Lucas McColgan and Zara Thompson. Rachel and Stephen John Carlin each won gold in their respective categories while the Senior Male Kumite category was won by Sloan O'Donnell. The final medal of the day saw Elaine Dullaghan claim her second individual gold of the day by winning the Senior Female section.

Sensei Mandy McNulty was given the honour of acting as Tatami Chief for the day. She praised her students for their performance and team spirit and thanked everyone who had travelled to support the team. Finally she thanked the coaches, Eathan, Elaine, Emer and Sloan, for their hard work.

The North West's team was Laura Browne (two silver), James Burke (one silver), Rebecca Burke (one silver), Rachel Carlin (one gold), Stephen John Carlin (two gold and one bronze), Lucy Casey (one gold), Laoi Coyle, Oran Doherty, Elaine Dullaghan (two gold, one silver), Emer Dullaghan (one silver), Emma Ellis (one silver), Ronan Ellis, Hollie Gallagher (one bronze), Lucas McColgan (one silver) Christian O'Brien-Irwin, Eathan O'Donnell (one gold), Sloan O'Donnell (two gold, one bronze), Joshua Thompson and Zara Thompson (one silver and one bronze).


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete