McBrine returns to Ireland squad.

Thursday, 4 January 2018

McBrine returns to Ireland squad. thumbnail Donemana’s Andy McBrine returns to the Ireland squad for a tri-series against Scotland and hosts UAE in Dubai next month.

ANDY McBrine returns to the Ireland squad for a tri-series against Scotland and hosts UAE in Dubai next month.

The Donemana all-rounder replaced Tim Murtagh who is being rested for the tour.

There's a also a return for Ed Joyce. The Dubliner missed the recent ICC InterContinental Cup and ODI series wins over Scotland and Afghanistan with a knee injury, but has recovered fully to take his place in the 15-man squad.

"We can't underestimate how good the series win in Sharjah was against Afghanistan. It was undoubtedly one of the most satisfying for the players and staff in recent times," said Chair of Selectors Andrew White.

"We've opted to leave Tim Murtagh at home to prepare for the long tour of South Africa and Zimbabwe as the staff continue to manage his workload.

"We are boosted by Ed Joyce's return after his injury lay-off, while Andy McBrine will add his all-round quality to the squad," added White.

It's a first tour in charge for new Ireland Head Coach Graham Ford who took over the reins from John Bracewell earlier this month.

"The lads will be looking to build up more positive momentum prior to the World Cup Qualifiers, gaining confidence from those recent wins in the last month," said Ford.

"There is plenty of hard work needed through this crucial preparation period. The players are very much up for it and realise the importance of making the most of this game time in the sunshine and outdoor facilities.

"We are grateful to the Emirates Cricket Board for hosting the tournament at relatively short notice."

Although not part of the squad, Craig Young will travel to Dubai, where he will bowl to the squad as he continues his rehabilitation from an elbow injury.

Ireland take on UAE on January 11 and 13, followed by two matches against Scotland on the 16th and 18th. All four ODI's will take place at the ICC Academy ground in Dubai.

Ireland Squad William Porterfield (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, Peter Chase, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Jacob Mulder, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Simi Singh, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson.


January 11: Ireland v UAE;
January 13: Ireland v UAE;
January 16: Ireland v Scotland;
January 18: Ireland v Scotland.


Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete