News

2018 League to begin in January for Red Hands.

Thursday, 9 November 2017

Tyrone's fixture schedule for 2018 has been confirmed, with the National Football League due to start earlier next year.

The Red Hands will launch their bid for the Division One title on Sunday January 28 when they travel to the west coast to take on Galway.

The date has also been set for the Ulster Football Championship opener against Monaghan, which is to take place at Healy Park on Sunday May 20.

The league opener will be followed by a Healy Park clash with All-Ireland champions Dublin at Healy Park on Saturday February 3.

Tyrone will make the trip to Newbridge to take on Kildare on Sunday February 11, and there's an Ulster derby against Monaghan at Castleblayney on Saturday February 24.

Donegal visit Healy Park in Saturday March 3, and that is followed by a trip to Castlebar to take on Mayo on Sunday March 28.

The league schedule concludes with a meeting with defending league championsKerry on Sunday March 25 at Healy Park. The NFL final is scheduled for Sunday April 1.

Meanwhile, the hurlers open their NHL Division 3A campaign with a home game against Warwickshire on Sunday January 28.

GAA director-general Paraic Duffy believes the GAA's new inter-county Master Fixtures Plan will be of major benefit to clubs.

He has singled out the lack of county games in April as the most obvious positive from clubs' perspectives, and points out that a scenario could still arise where county managers prevent their players from representing their clubs.

"Personally, I think you'll find that not many counties will play club championship matches in April," he said.

"If you look at it another way, by the 15th of July there will be four teams left in the hurling championship. I think most teams will say that they'll play their club championships after that.

"In football, by the 8th of July, there will be eight teams left so I think you're going to see championships being played in July, August and September.

"In April, I think you're going to have a lot of league games in counties, giving a regular series of games. The real issue is, will managers let county players play? And that's something that every county has to work out for themselves.

"We can't enforce that. That will probably be an issue.

But the weekends are there exclusively for clubs so it should make a huge difference."


It has been confirmed that the All-Ireland hurling and football finals will move from their traditional dates in September and GAA's head of games Feargal McGill said: "That point was raised several times and without a doubt of course that's a concern for the association that you are conceding a certain amount of the sports territory if you like in September.

"But again the idea to bring the All-Ireland forward didn't arrive overnight.

"It came after a lot of discussion and that was one of the huge arguments against it but at the end of the day we need to help the club game and that's why we have taken the decision.

"It's not a decision anyone would take lightly but it's one on balance that Congress felt had to be taken."



Tyrone fixtures


Allianz Football League
Division 1 Fixtures

Sunday 28th January in Salthill:
Galway v Tyrone

Saturday 3rd February in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Dublin

Sunday 11th February in Newbridge:
Kildare v Tyrone

Saturday 24th February in Castleblaney:
Monaghan v Tyrone

Saturday 3rd March in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Donegal

Sunday 18th March in Castlebar:
Mayo v Tyrone

Sunday 25th March in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Kerry

Sunday 1st April:
Allianz League Final Ulster SFC

Sunday 20th May in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Monaghan

Sunday 3rd June:
Ulster Semi Final

Sunday 24th June:
Ulster Final

9/23/30 June & 7 July
Rounds 1-4 All Ireland Qualifiers

AI Quarter Finals W/E 15 July, 22 July and 5 August

AI Semi Finals W/E 12 August

AI Final Sunday 2 September

Allianz Hurling League
Division 3A

Sunday 28th January in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Warwickshire

Sunday 4th February in Darver:
Louth v Tyrone

Sunday 18th February in Inniskeen:
Monaghan v Tyrone

Sunday 25th February in Healy Park:
Tyrone v Roscommon

Sunday 4th March in Longford:
Longford v Tyrone

Sunday 11th March:
Allianz League Final

Nicky Rackard Cup
12 May: Tyrone v Donegal

2 June: Tyrone v Leitrim

9 June Semi Final

23rd June Final

Share

Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete