Senior Cup stays at The Holm

Thursday, 3 August 2017

Senior Cup stays at The Holm thumbnailDonemana, Bank of Ireland Senior Cup champions for 2017. (Photo by CricketEurope).

IT WAS a case of 'same old story' as Donemana kept up their remarkable cup form to retain the Bank of Ireland Senior Cup at Beechgrove on Saturday afternoon.

The gulf in class between the holders and Championship side Ballyspallen was clear over the two-innings final, as Junior McBrine's 10-wicket haul inspired Donemana to victory. although to be fair to Ballyspallen they were competitive for a lot longer than many had anticipated.

Credit to the Roe Valley men though, they asked questions of Donemana early in Friday's first session. The Tyrone side were 71-5 batting first, but pulled it together thanks to a 102-run partnership between skipper Ricky-Lee Dougherty and Andrew Riddles.

Ballyspallen's Steven McCloskey (2-35), Mark Averill (2-56) and Johnny Martin (2-64) had them going well, but Dougherty and Riddles restored the innings, taking 32 overs to get their total up to 100. Dougherty went on to top score with 63 (6 fours and a six) while Riddles was out three short of a deserved half century.

Dwayne McGerrigle's 28 came off 14 balls and included 3 fours and 2 sixes, taking the score to 226-8 after their first 50 overs.

Spallen's reply was decent, as Stephen Kennedy (26) and Craig Averill (20) got them to 50 for 1, however Dougherty was able to take control for Donemana after that.

McGerrigle (2-40) actually picked up both set batsmen as he was introduced first, but after that, Jordan McGonigle and Junior McBrine took over.

Mark Averill (32) and Ivan Hill-Nicholl (24) offered the best of Ballyspallen's resistance, however the innings closed on 129 all out- a lead of 97 for the cup holders- with McGonigle picking up 4-21 and McBrine 3-22.

Donemana came out much better on Saturday, and despite Jamie Huey's early departure, Imran Butt and Gary McClintock put up a 94-run stand for the second wicket. Stephen Kennedy took a superb catch to eventually get rid of Butt for 69 (10 fours and a six).

McClintock then edged one to Ballyspallen's impressive wicket-keeper McCallum for 42, giving Mark Averill (4-44) the second of his four wickets.

From there the Championship side fought back again through Johnny Martin (2-23) and McCloskey (2-38), while Dwayne McGerrigle made 22 before being bowled by James Thompson. William McClintock (20), Junior McBrine (20) and skipper Dougherty (17) all helped the Tyrone men towards a total of 237 all out, an overall lead of 334.

McCallum and Stephen Kennedy were still battling and they put on 60 for the first wicket, before they were separated.

From then it was Junior McBrine show, as he took care of the rest of the Ballyspallen order with 7-13 from almost 9 overs in a man-of-the-match display. Jordan McGonigle helped tidy up with 2-12, and Ballyspallen were all out for 101 second time around, a 233-run defeat in the end-up.

First Innings

Donemana 226-8 (50 overs; RL Dougherty 63, A Riddles 47, D McGerrigle 28, G McClintock 20, S McCloskey 2-35, M Averill 2-56, J Martin 2-64)

Ballyspallen 129 all out (42.2 overs; M Averill 32, S Kennedy 26, I Hill-Nicholl 24,C Averill 20, J McGonigle 4-21, Jun McBrine 3-22, D McGerrigle 2-40

Second Innings

Donemana 237 all out (49.5 overs; I Butt 69, G McClintock 42, D McGerrigle 22, W McClintock 20, Jun McBrine 20, M Averill 4-44, J Martin 2-23, S McCloskey 2-38)

Ballyspallen 101 all out (25.2 overs; S Kennedy 35, D McCallum 27, J McBrine 7-13, J McGonigle 2-12)



Subscribe to read full newspaper »

Send to a friend

Please complete the following form to inform a friend about this page.

In order to process your information we must ask you to enter the letters in the image into the box:

CAPTCHA Image play audio version Reload Image

* Mandatory field - please complete